27/4/2013

While boarding the bus back from an interview for a History project, a Caucasian lady, carrying her newborn, extremely adorable, sleeping baby and a paper bag, and an elderly lady boarded. The bus driver immediately got out of the driver’s compartment, and asked politely for two young ladies to stand up and give up their seats (which were priority seats) to them. And of course they obliged. I think most of the people around them were watching as this scene unfolds, myself included, and I couldn’t help but smile at the graciousness the bus driver (and of course the two cooperative ladies) showed. I was just so happy and touched and heartened by what I saw. I wanted to say something to show my admiration or appreciation to that bus driver, but was at a loss of what to say, so I decided to make it a point to write this beautiful moment down in my blog/journal. To this amazing man, merci beaucoup(thank you very much).
Shortly after, a group of rambunctious teenaged boys boarded, in jerseys and high spirits. Through the journey, some of them attained seats at the back whereas some remained in the front. Two boys managed to sit on two priority seats, and I immediately judged them. I was internally criticizing them for being so ungracious (even though there was no one in great need of those seats). But when one elderly man boarded, they immediately stood back up and said, “Er Uncle, you can sit.” And immediately, all my criticism directed towards them vanished without a trace. I smiled again. And even though they went to sit on the engine (I think) afterwards although it wasn’t really meant for sitting, I didn’t have the heart to judge and criticise them. As Gretchen Rubin wrote, “Cut people some slack.” For all I know, they might have just came back from a soccer practice, and their feet were aching. Thank you to this two boys. You made me learn to think before I judge, and I’m glad I witnessed your actions.
In a short span of 20 minutes, I witnessed two powerful moments, and the world seemed brighter… (Okay who was I kidding?) The world remained the same brightness, but I felt lighter, happier. And I’m thankful for it.
I’m also thankful that I am loved by my parents and brother and helper and my family, and that my parents cared enough to ferry me from one place to another. I know I don’t show my gratitude or love often (it may even seem nonexistant, giving the fact I’m a grumpy cold-blooded person), but that doesn’t mean I’m not thankful. I am. I’m also thankful for all that I have, especially the chance to read and possess The Happiness Project. Gretchen Rubin is amazing.

27/4/2013

Leave a Reply

